Archives nationales

Authorisation to consult (private archives)

User guide
The Archives Nationales holds private records entrusted to them by their owner. In accordance with article L.213 6 of the French Heritage Code, the owners may place conditions on accessing and copying the records they have given to or deposited with the Archives Nationales. These conditions have to be respected.
When you draw up your "list of reference numbers" in your personal workspace on the online catalogue, a table displays the automated results. Records marked as "access to record group blocked" are not openly accessible, in which case you may request authorisation to consult them.
 

  • Return to your list of reference numbers, click the check box for the reference(s) for which you want the restriction to be lifted, then click on "authorisation to consult private archives" (at the bottom of the screen).
  • Fill out the form then click on "submit request".

then click on "print request". You need to sign the form. Once you have signed it, hand it in at the main reading room desk or send it by post to:

Archives Nationales
Direction des fonds
59, rue Guynemer
90001
93383 Pierrefitte-sur-Seine cedex

Recommendations
Only request records that are useful for your research, as requests for large numbers of documents may be rejected.
If the documents you wish to consult are from several different record groups, you will need to fill out a form for each record group as they belong to different owners.
For university research it is a good idea to append a brief note from your supervisor supporting your request.
It is essential that you know the reference number for the article(s) concerned in order to place a request.
Incomplete requests cannot be processed. If you do not know the reference number of the documents you wish to consult because the corresponding calendar has not been published or is not yet available online, then you will need to come to the Archives Nationales in order to find the reference number.
Authorisations to consult records are strictly personal. If several people wish to consult the documents for which a request is being filed, each person needs to make a separate request.
Documents for which clearance has been granted can only be copied if authorisation to do so has been requested along with clearance, and formal authorisation been granted, irrespective of the means used to copy the document. You will not be able to copy a record you have come to consult unless you have such authorisation.


Tracking progress with your request
Click on "track my forms" in your personal workspace of the online catalogue (you can also reprint your request from here if need be).
Once your request has been processed the Archives Nationales will send you a letter informing you of the owner's decision.
If you have received clearance for all the records corresponding to a given reference number, request access to these from your personal workspace on the online catalogue. If you have received clearance for extracts corresponding to a given reference number, you will need to contact the person indicated in the letter you have received. The Archives Nationales will then reserve the extract for the date indicated.
 
Appeals
It is not possible to appeal against this decision. Access to private archives is at the owner's discretion, and they alone decide on how on the duration of any authorisation.
Go to the online catalogue

Archives nationales

Autorisations (archives privées)

Mode d'emploi
Les Archives nationales conservent des fonds d'archives privées qui qui leur ont été confiés par leur propriétaire. Conformément à l'article L.213 6 du Code du patrimoine, les propriétaires peuvent soumettre la communication ou la reproduction des archives qu'ils ont données ou déposées à des conditions que les services d'archives sont tenus de respecter.
Lorsque vous constituez votre « liste de cotes », depuis votre espace personnel en salle des inventaires virtuelle, un tableau vous restitue le résultat de l'instruction automatique. La mention « communication bloquée sur le fond » indique que le document demandé n'est pas librement communicable.Vous pouvez alors déposer une demande d'autorisation de consultation :

  • Retournez à votre liste de cotes, cochez la/les cote(s) pour laquelle/lesquelles vous souhaitez effectuer une demande de levée de restriction cliquez (en bas de l'écran de votre espace personnel) sur "Autorisation de consultation d'archives privées".
  • Renseignez le formulaire et cliquez sur « soumettre la demande ».

Cliquez sur le lien "Imprimez votre demande" : vous devez signer ce formulaire. Une fois signé, adressez le formulaire en le déposant soit à la présidence de salle, soit en l'envoyant par courrier postal :

Archives nationales
Direction des fonds
59, rue Guynemer
90001
93383 Pierrefitte-sur-Seine cedex

Conseils
Limitez votre demande aux seuls articles utiles à la poursuite de votre travail de recherche, les demandes trop importantes peuvent être rejetées.
Si les documents que vous souhaitez consulter appartiennent à plusieurs fonds différents, vous devez remplir un formulaire par fonds puisque les propriétaires sont différents.
Dans le cas d'une recherche universitaire, il est utile de joindre l'attestation du directeur de recherche.
Vous devez impérativement connaître la cote du ou des articles concernés par votre demande, pour la formuler.
Les demandes incomplètes ne peuvent pas être traitées. Si vous ne connaissez pas la cote du document que vous souhaitez consulter parce que l'inventaire correspondant n'a pas été publié ou n'est pas encore accessible en ligne, vous serez obligé de venir chercher cette cote sur place aux Archives nationales.
Les autorisations de consultation sont strictement individuelles. Si vous êtes plusieurs personnes à souhaiter consulter les documents sur lesquels porte votre demande, chacun devra déposer une demande séparée.
Les documents consultés par autorisation ne peuvent être reproduits que si la demande le prévoit et qu'ensuite l'autorisation en est formellement donnée, et cela, quel que soit le moyen de reproduction utilisé. Faute de cet accord, lorsque vous viendrez consulter ces documents, vous ne pourrez pas effectuer de reproduction.

Pour suivre l'évolution de votre demande
Dans votre espace personnel de la salle des inventaires virtuelle, cliquez sur l'onglet « Suivi de mes formulaires » (à partir duquel vous pourrez également, si besoin, réimprimer votre demande).
A l'issue de la procédure d'instruction de votre demande, vous recevrez, sous couvert des Archives nationales, un courrier papier vous informant de la décision prise par le propriétaire.
Si l'autorisation vous a été accordée sur des cotes entières, demandez celles-ci en communication depuis votre espace personnel dans la salle des inventaires virtuelle. Si l'autorisation vous a été accordée sur des extraits de cote, vous devrez prendre contact avec la personne qui est indiquée dans le courrier papier que vous avez reçu. La réservation de l'extrait sera alors déclenchée par les Archives nationales pour la date qui aura été fixée.
 
Recours
Aucun recours n'est possible. La communication des archives privées reste à la discrétion des propriétaires, qui fixent eux-mêmes la durée de validité de l'autorisation.
Accéder à la Salle des inventaires virtuelle